Lizard Hunter Bounces Back After Surgery

 

There you are, Lizard…

A visit to the vet turned into surgery for one of our canine children today.

A few months ago, I noticed a small lump on the back of Jack’s neck. It didn’t seem to bother him when I applied slight pressure to it, so I just periodically checked the marble-size growth beneath his skin to see if it had grown. It hadn’t changed in size, so I didn’t panic. I’d ask the vet during his next well visit.

Then a few days ago, I spotted bright red blood on Jack’s fur. My heart dropped. I quickly dabbed it with cotton balls as best as I could, and the best that he would let me.  Jack is our growly boy.  My car is in the repair shop, and Jack didn’t seem to be in any immediate pain, so hubby and I figured he’d be all right until we could take him to see Dr. Wilds on Saturday. I was mostly concerned about infection. We’d get it checked, cleaned properly, maybe some antibiotics and be on our way.

But things didn’t quite turn out that way.  Jack’s visit to the vet turned into surgery. Dr. Wilds quickly discovered Jack had a tumor, though, by the looks of the growth, he felt the tumor was benign.  We have confidence in Dr. Wilds and trust that he’d seen enough of these types of tumors to recognize the difference. Though, to be certain, he sent a biopsy to the lab. It’ll be 10 days to get the results.

Nannie. Nannie. Can’t catch me.

In the meanwhile, Jack doesn’t like the snug fitting vest he has to wear to hold the bandage in place. Though, he ate his dinner and when I told him there was a lizard on the patio, his ears perked and he dashed outside to see for himself. You see, Jack is our alligator lizard hunter.  He doesn’t harm them. He just enjoys the sport of chasing them around the patio until they scurry up a stucco wall.

Jack and his sister, Sally

As for Jack’s sister, Sally, well, we have to make sure she gets plenty of attention, too. But that’s easy since hubby and I love to spoil both of our canine children.

7 thoughts on “Lizard Hunter Bounces Back After Surgery

  1. Pingback: Lizard Hunter Bounces Back After Surgery | mariacisnerostoth

Leave a Reply

